Resources

Yoga

yogaMany unhealthy behaviours begin as a coping mechanism or a way of filling a spiritual void. As a result, people in treatment must learn to deal with their emotions and environment in healthier ways. Practicing yoga is an excellent complement to conventional chemical dependency treatment. A 12-step program and the eight-fold path of yoga both emphasize truth, meditation, surrendering to a higher power, and developing self-awareness, while healing body, mind, and spirit.

Yoga Alliancewww.yogaalliance.org

The American Yoga Association – www.iayt.org

USA Yoga – www.usayoga.org

Meditation

meditationWhen people are in the early stages of recovery, they can often experience a kind of mental fuzziness. They may struggle to think clearly as their mind adjusts to life without substance or other abuse. This is can also be a time when emotions are erratic. Those who fail to cope with these challenges in early recovery are more likely to relapse. Mindfulness meditation can be a great tool at all stages of sobriety. It gives people more control over their emotions and increases mental clarity.

American Meditation Societyamericanmeditationsociety.org

Reading

readingThere are huge benefits to reading while you are working a program or attending individual therapy as it adds another layer to the work you are doing. There are books on practically every subject covered within the site and many contain helpful tests and strategies to propel you forwards on your journey. It is something you can do in your time, at your own pace and helps to embed all that you learn at your meetings and therapy more deeply into your conscious as well as subconscious.

 

 

Counselling / Therapy

counsellingCounselling is often described as talk therapy or behavioural therapy, and it is one of the most important components in healthy recovery.

With some treatment programs, group therapy and individual therapy are recommended. Other courses of treatment may simply recommend individual counselling. People who have drug, alcohol or other issues can benefit from counselling, regardless of the type of counselling that they choose to participate in.

There are a variety of techniques used in counselling sessions, but they all have the same primary purpose: to help people change their behavioural patterns so that they can be successful in their attempt to stop unhealthy behaviour and learn how to lead healthy, productive lives.

Association for Counseling & Therapy – www.acto-uk.org

American Counseling Association Online education – www.counseling.org

International Association Of Counselors & Therapists – www.iact.org

British Association for Counsellors & Psychotherapists – http://www.bacp.co.uk

 

Residential Recovery

res-recoveryThe benefits of a residential addiction recovery program occur on all levels of treatment: physical, psychological and emotional. You are giving yourself the gift of time and focus when you choose to support your recovery process in an inpatient addiction treatment facility short or long term.RRe

UK
Lifeworkswww.lifeworkscommunity.com
Clouds House – www.actiononaddiction.org.uk/treatment/clouds-house
Priory Group – www.priorygroup.com

USA
Five Sisters Ranch – www.fivesistersranch.com
Hazelden – www.hazelden.org
Caron – www.caron.org
Onsite Workshops – www.onsiteworkshops.com
Pine Grove – www.pinegrovetreatment.com
The Refuge – www.therefuge-ahealingplace.com
Cottonwood – www.cottonwooddetucson.com
Addiction Center – www.addictioncenter.com/treatment

South Africa
Oasis Counselling Centre – www.oasiscentre.co.za

12 Step Programs

12-stepsThere are few places in the world where you’ll find more honesty, courage, and support than in a 12 step meeting. It’s one of the most amazing experiences you can have. 12 step groups are an important resource of recovery for two reasons. First, they’re effective, millions of people have recovered through them. Second, they’re free and universally available. To find a meeting near you or to help others see below:-

AA – Alcoholics Anonymous – www.aa.org

ACA – Adult Children of Alcoholics – www.adultchildren.org

Al-Anon/Alateen, for friends and families of alcoholics – www.al-anon.org

CA – Cocaine Anonymous www.ca.org

CLA – Clutterers Anonymous www.clutterersanonymous.org

CMA – Crystal Meth Anonymous www.crystalmeth.org

Co-Anon, for friends and family of addicts www.co-anon.org

CoDA – Co-Dependents Anonymous, for people working to end patterns of dysfunctional relationships and develop functional and healthy relationships www.coda.org

COSA – formerly Codependents of Sex Addicts – www.cosa-recovery.org

DA – Debtors Anonymous www.debtorsanonymous.org

EA – Emotions Anonymous, for recovery from mental and emotional illness www.emotionsanonymous.org

FA – Families Anonymous, for relatives and friends of addicts – www.familiesanonymous.org

FA – Food Addicts in Recovery Anonymous – www.foodaddicts.org

FAA – Food Addicts Anonymous – www.foodaddictsanonymous.org

GA – Gamblers Anonymous – www.gamblersanonymous.org

Gam-Anon/Gam-A-Teen, for friends and family members of problem gamblers – www.gam-anon.org

MA – Marijuana Anonymous – www. marijuana-anonymous.org

Methadone Anonymous Support – www.MethadoneSupport.org

NA – Narcotics Anonymous www.na.org

NAIL – Neurotics Anonymous, for recovery from mental and emotional illness – neuroticosanonimos.us

Nar-Anon, for friends and family members of addicts – www.nar-anon.org

NicA – Nicotine Anonymous www.nicotine-anonymous.org

OA – Overeaters Anonymous – www.oa.org

OLGA – Online Gamers Anonymous – www.olganon.org

PA – Pills Anonymous, for recovery from prescription pill addiction – www.pillsanonymous.org

SA – Sexaholics Anonymous – www.sa.org

SAA – Sex Addicts Anonymous – https://saa-recovery.org

SCA – Sexual Compulsives Anonymous – www.sca-recovery.org

SIA – Survivors of Incest Anonymous – www.siawso.org

SLAA – Sex and Love Addicts Anonymous – www.slaafws.org

SRA – Sexual Recovery Anonymous – www.sexualrecovery.org

UA – Underearners Anonymous – underearnersanonymous.org

WA – Workaholics Anonymous – www.workaholics-anonymous.org

Feedback

This is a new site and new members are joining weekly but you may find when you first search there are none in your immediate area. Please help us grow the community by spreading the word. The site is currently free to join and we want your experience to be a positive one. We would like your views on what could be improved, anything driving you nuts or stuff you want more of and we will do our best to make changes where appropriate as quickly as we can.

Feedback

Sign up to receive promotions

From time to time Present Partners may have promotions or special offers to share with you. Please sign up if you would like to be notified.

Sign into your account Create new account

Your privacy is important to us and we will never rent or sell your information.

 
×
Create new account Login

By completing your sign up, you agree with the Terms and Conditions of Present Partners.

 
×
FORGOT YOUR DETAILS?
×

Go up